Books I have read: An Idiot Abroad

An Idiot Abroad

I always find Ricky Gervais quite funny so borrowed An Idiot Abroad: The Travel Diaries of Karl Pilkington by Karl Pilkington, Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant from the library.  I’ve got to be honest, as I finished the book I came away disappointed.

Karl Pilkington was sent by Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant to the seven wonders of the world – but instead of having a lovely stay in a 5* hotel and having a beautiful tourist experience he stays or travels with a local resident, most of whom are incredibly poor.  These relationships provide a lot of value in the book – both in terms of amusing stories, but also in terms of the way they clearly make Karl think about the world.

I think the thing that made me most disappointed was Karl’s attitude – he just didn’t seem interested in the fantastic opportunities he’d been given to visit the seven wonders as part of his work.

2 thoughts on “Books I have read: An Idiot Abroad

Leave a Reply

